The Crazy Adventures of Staying Home with My Kids: Day 1

Our childcare situation is a mix of methods. Mondays, my mother-in-law watches the boys at her house. Tuesday through Thursday, we have a babysitter come to our house and watch the boys. And on Fridays, I work every other Friday from home. I work a 9/80 schedule, which means that I work a 9 hour day and get every other Friday off! Anyway, our babysitter is on vacation. This means that I have spent the past three days at home with my children, and I have so much to say about it that I’m breaking up the post into three parts…

My normal routine on a Tuesday would be wake up at 6 a.m., and throw myself together to get on the road by 6:45 a.m. I wouldn’t see the boys, or talk to anyone- just get in the car and go! This Tuesday, at 7 a.m. (wow- slept in!) J came in and informed me that it was morning and he needed to eat. I went downstairs to get him some food, and realized that my dachshund… was having issues. She has recurring ‘issues’- so I knew right away that we’d need to head to the vet.

8 a.m.: I arrive at the vet’s office, and realize that I have no leash. Since I don’t want Mayhem to dash into the road, I attempt to carry him and the dog into the vet. I asked J to open the door for me, but I just got a blank stare. OK, fine, I put Mayhem down- and we head in. The boys run over to the table loaded with toys, and I get put in an exam room with Kallie (the dog). J doesn’t want to come, so I let him stay in the lobby and play- but Mayhem had to come with me. He didn’t want to. He starts wreaking havoc when the vet comes in to discuss things with me- climbing on the chair, dumping the brochures on the floor, tossing the books around, whining… I leave the dog, go back to the lobby. The vet comes out, we’ll need to head home with two antibiotics and two creams which I need to apply for 14 days. Great, there goes $250.

9 a.m.: We have Little J’s first dental appointment. I try to fill out paperwork BEFORE they kill each other over the toys in this waiting room. Thankfully, it’s a pediatric dentist- so they hopefully have seen this before? I try to remember when the last time J was at the doctor… as Mayhem drags a stool over to the fish tank, and puts his chubby little hand on my clipboard, then points up, “FISH!” Yes, baby, fish. Then we sit down in the chair, and there is a movie playing- Mayhem wants to see the movie.

20120727-095441.jpg

Then, we had lunch with Daddy. I realized that there isn’t a lot of ‘staying home’ when you’re ‘staying home’… Finally, it was naptime. Sweet, sweet naptime. I spent my time decorating J’s goody bags for his dinosaur party, and trying to organize myself for the party.

20120727-095916.jpg

I made a birthday banner, so I can check that off the list. Now I have a pinata, which needs candy. Cupcakes that I will need to bake Friday, goody bags that need filling, and paper goods.

Baby steps, there’s always tomorrow, right?!

Leave a comment